Page Navigation

The Vailima Foundation

The Vailima Foundation was established by Charlotte and Norman H. Strouse in 1968 to provide funds and leadership for a museum in the St. Helena area, into which their collection of Robert Louis Stevenson books, art, manuscripts and memorabilia could be placed as a permanent gift to the public.

Today, the Vailima Foundation, a 501(c)3 organization, does business as (dba) the Robert Louis Stevenson Museum.

Its Board of Trustees directs the affairs of the Museum and manages its collections which are held in public trust.

Current Board of Trustees

gerry-working Gerry Working, Chairperson

Fred Zammataro



Fred Zammataro, Treasurer 


Lise Lawson, Vice Chair

Dianne Fraser, Secretary

Mario Sculatti

John Heflebower 

Mary Givens

Kim Bush Tomio

Joan Farrar 

Emeritus Trustees

W. Stanley Holt
Liz Martini
William von Metz


Dr. Roger G. Swearingen
Dr. Barry Menikoff


1490 Library Lane
P.O. Box 23
St. Helena, CA 94574

Reach Out

T 707.963.3757
F 707.963.0917


Tuesday – Saturday
12:00pm – 4:00pm

Closed for Federal Holidays